The Library’s vibrant awards program continues to bring together writers and readers to celebrate and promote excellence in literature and history.  

Contact us for more information.

Sign up to Receive the Awards newsletter

NSW Premier's Literary Awards


Total prize money in 2019 is up to $305,000. 


NSW Premier's History Awards


Total prize money $75,000.

Entries will open in February 2019.


Inaugural prize. 

Total prize money $20,000. 

Entries open until Monday 29 April 2019.

National Biography Award


Total prize money $42,000.

Entries have closed.

Ashurst Business Literature Prize


Total prize money $30,000.

Entries have closed.

2018 Mona Brand Award Winners

Biennial - next presented in 2020.

Total prize money $40,000.

2018 winners: Lucy Knox (Emerging Writer), Patricia Cornelius (Mona Brand Award Winner)


Awards in association with the State Library of NSW

Miles Franklin Award

Annual award of $60,000.

Nita B. Kibble Literary Awards

Biennial award of $30,000.

Dobbie Literary Award

Biennial award of $5,000.