The Constitution

The Australian Constitution sets out our system of government, defining the powers and relationships between our three arms of government – the executive, the judiciary and the legislature – and it also defines the way that power is distributed between the federal and state and territory governments. To this extent, the Constitution is a mechanical and practical document.