The Library's reading rooms are open. Before you visit, please read Visiting the Library. 

Legal information in community languages

Find information about the law in community languages


LawAccess NSW

You can find information on a range of legal topics on the LawAccess website. To find information, put an asterisk (*) in the search box, and then select a language from the dropdown menu. Click on Search to find all the material available in that language.

Languages available: Arabic, Armenian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese simplified, Chinese traditional, Croatian, Dari, Dinka, Farsi, Fijian, Filipino, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Juba Arabic, Khmer, Korean, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Spanish, Tamil, Thai, Tongan, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

Anti-Discrimination Board of NSW

The Anti-Discrimination Board provides simple information about anti-discrimination law in a number of community languages.

Languages available: Arabic, Armenian, Chinese, Croatian, Dari, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Khmer, Korean, Macedonian, Portuguese, Serbian, Spanish, Turkish and Vietnamese.

Australian Tax Office

The Other languages page has information to help people from non-English speaking backgrounds understand tax and superannuation.

Languages available: Arabic, Assyrian, Bengali, Burmese, Chinese, Croatian, Dari, Dinka, Farsi, Filipino, Greek, Hazaragi, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Karen, Khmer, Korean, Macedonian, Nepali, Punjabi, Russian, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Spanish, Tamil, Thai, Turkish, Urdu, and Vietnamese.


On the Information in your language page you will find information about Centrelink's payments and services.

Languages available: Amharic, Arabic,  Assyrian, Bengali, Bosnian, Burmese, Chinese, Chin (Haka), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dinka, Dutch, Fijian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hazaragi, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Karen, Khmer, Kirundi, Korean, Kurdish (Faili), Kurdish (Kumanji), Kurdish (Sorani), Lao, Latvian, Macedonian, Maltese, Nepali, Norwegian, Oromo, Pashto, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Rohingya, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Sinhalese, Slovak, Slovene, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Tibetan, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Urdu, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Fair Work Commission

On the Resources in other languages page you will find information about unfair dismissal, general protections and the work of the Commission.

Languages available: Arabic, Chinese simplified, Chinese traditional, Greek, Indonesian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Fair Work Ombudsman

The Fair Work Ombudsman website can be instantly translated into 40 languages other than English - choose a language from the drop-down menu at the top of the screen to translate the website.

The Language Help page has information in 30 different languages to help employees understand what their rights are when working in Australia.

Languages available on the Language Help page: Arabic, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Croatian, Dari, Filipino, French, German,  Greek, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Nepali, Macedonian, Farsi/Persian,  Portuguese, Russian, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Spanish, Tamil,  Thai, Tongan, Turkish, Urdu, and Vietnamese.

Money Smart

Find the Money Management Kit in 15 community languages. The Kit was developed for community settlement workers who work with new arrivals

Languages available: Arabic, Assyrian, Burmese, Chin Hakka, Dari, Dinka, Farsi, Hazaragi, Karen, Kirundi, Nepalese, Nuer, Sudanese Arabic, Swahili, Tamil.

NSW Fair Trading

Find information on topics including tenancy and shopping on the Community language information page.

Languages available:Arabic, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Croatian, Dinka, Farsi, Filipino (Tagalog), Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Korean, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Samoan, Spanish, Thai, Tongan, Turkish, Vietnamese.

NSW Ombudsman

The NSW Ombudsman deals with complaints about NSW government and some non-government agencies. You can find information about the Ombudsman on their Information in other languages page.

Languages available: Amharic, Arabic, Arabic Juba, Assyrian, Bengali, Bosnian, Burmese, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Croatian, Dari, Dinka, Farsi, Fijian, Greek, Hindi, Italian, Indonesian, Japanese, Karen, Khmer, Korean, Krio, Kurdish (Sorani), Lao, Macedonian, Maltese, Nepali, Portuguese, Pashto Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Tigrinya, Turkish, Twi, Urdu, and Vietnamese.

Tenants' Union of NSW

On the Community languages page you will find tenancy fact sheets and resources for renters who speak languages other than English.

Languages available: Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese simplified, Chinese traditional, Farsi, Japanese, Korean, Kurdish, Spanish, Thai, and Vietnamese.